Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Eat Pray Love (February 15)

eat pray love largeThis week I have chosen Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love as my choice of book for my Friday meme combo. I picked up this book at a book sale a while back, but never thought about reading it up to now. I watched the movie with my wife yesterday and enjoyed it enough to want to check out the book. I’d like to think that I’ll read it soon, but I’ll need to get through some other books first. The following description is from the back cover:

In her early thirties, Elizabeth Gilbert had everything a modern American woman was supposed to want–husband, country home, successful career–but instead of feeling happy and fulfilled, she felt consumed by panic and confusion. This wise and rapturous book is the story of how she left behind all these outward marks of success, and of what she found in their place. Following a divorce and a crushing depression, Gilbert set out to examine three different aspects of her nature, set against the backdrop of three different cultures: pleasure in Italy, devotion in India, and on the Indonesian island of Bali, a balance between worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Eat Pray Love:

When you’re traveling in India – especially through holy sites and Ashrams – you see a lot of people wearing beads around their necks. You also see a lot of old photographs of naked, skinny and intimidating Yogis (or sometimes even plump, kindly and radiant Yogis) wearing beads, too.

There’s almost a mental picture there that I don’t want in your mind, but I’m also intrigued enough to want to read on.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Eat Pray Love:

Sometimes I feel like he’s older than me, what with his solemn brow and his philosophy degree and his serious political opinions. I like to try to make him laugh, but Giovanni doesn’t always get my jokes.

I know what that’s like sometimes! Maybe sometimes I just try too hard.

That’s it once more for another week. I think that I may enjoy this book, if I ever get around to reading it. Having seen the movie is incentive enough for me to want to read it, but it may be a little while until I get around to it.

3 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Eat Pray Love (February 15)

Leave a Reply

