Booking Through Thursday – Gifts (January 10)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following:

Do you like to give books as gifts? I’m usually torn. I love giving and sharing books, but it can be hard. The giftee can be difficult to please, or you don’t know what they’ve read (or what they thought of books they have read). Even people who love to read and love to get books can be hard to gift books to … so, does that make you pause and reach for the neckties or DVDs or sweaters … anything BUT a book at gift-giving time? How do you feel about getting books yourself? Are you picky or easy?

I love choosing books as gifts for other people. I’m always looking for a reason to get books for my wife and two children. For Christmas we gave each other loads of books. I usually have a good idea of what to get them. I know what they like, what they own, and what they’ve read. They usually leave enough clues as to what they would like anyway. If I’m not sure, then I’ll get a Chapters gift card.

I’ll occasionally send a book to my family members in the UK, but now with the internet it’s just as easy to do an online gift card. I have done this a few times through the UK Amazon, where if they don’t want a book they can get something else.

I have been told that I am difficult to buy books for, mainly because I already have lots of books, but also because they’re not sure what I have read. Usually I have a wishlist on the go of books I wouldn’t mind having. This way they know I’ll get something I’ll enjoy. Before Christmas I put together a list of 12 books I’d like and my family gave me 6 of them, which I thought was really great. I also received a total of $125.00 in Chapters gift cards as gifts at Christmas, so I’ll easily be able to get the other 6 if I so choose.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday – Gifts (January 10)

Leave a Reply

