Saturday Snapshot – Tolkien (January 5)

(Saturday Snapshot is brought to you by At Home With Books)

DSCF8600I realize I’m a couple of days late with this, but January 3 was the 121st anniversary of the birth of J.R.R. Tolkien. This is a small corner of my bookcase with some of the Tolkien books that I own. The Hobbit is my favourite book of all time, but I still haven’t decided whether or not I really want to see the Peter Jackson movie yet. I probably will, but I wasn’t over keen on what he did with the LOTR stories.

10 thoughts on “Saturday Snapshot – Tolkien (January 5)

    • Thanks. This edition of The Hobbit is a collectors edition I picked up at a local thrift store for a dollar. It is beautifully bound and has some wonderful colour illustrations.

  1. Awesome collection!
    As for The Hobbit film, I loved it, and while it retains that same feel that his LOTR films had, there is one major difference – in the LOTR films he cut a lot of the story out, but with The Hobbit interpretations he’s adding a lot of story in that wasn’t directly in The Hobbit book (especially the Necromancer storyline). So I guess it depends if you’d find this offputting or interesting? Personally I was a big fan though. 🙂

    • It’s the adding of stuff that upsets me. Maybe I’m a bit too pedantic. What upset me most about the LOTR movies was the way he changed the characteristics of some of the main characters, as well as leaving out too much, including the ruined Shire after the ring is destroyed and Tom Bombadil. The movies just didn’t represent the spirit of Tolkien very much for my liking. I’ll probably still end up watching The Hobbit, though. Thanks for stopping by.

    • I’m really conflicted on the movie. On one hand I would like to see it, if only to be able to talk about what I didn’t like about it; then, on the other hand the LOTR movies ticked me off so much that I’m afraid the Hobbit one will as well! Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

