Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Resolve to Read in 2013 (January 1)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

The first topic for 2013 is ‘Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013’. I have too many books on my TBR list and it keeps on growing! However, there are some on it that I really need to get around to reading this year, so it shouldn’t be hard coming up with a realistic list of 10.

in the first circle1. In The First Circle – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. This will be the year that I finally tackle this book. I have started it a couple of times since I bought it over three years ago, but the next time I start it I’m determined to finish it. It’s usually the long list of characters and their hard to remember (Russian) names that puts me off, but if this is the only book that I read on this list this year I’ll have at least some small satisfaction.

master and commander2. Master and Commander – Patrick O’Brian. This is the first in a series of 21 books that I’ve thought about reading for a long time. I picked up books 2 and 3 at a library book sale a couple of months ago, then received the first book for Christmas. If I get these three read during this year I’ll be quite happy.

neverwhere3. Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman. I only started reading Gaiman in the past couple of years, but have really enjoyed what I’ve read so far. There are so many to choose from, but this one is one I asked for last year and received as a gift from my wife. Hopefully I’ll be able to read a few Gaiman books in 2013, but if I only get around to reading one, this needs to be the one.

silence4. Silence – Shusaku Endo. This is another book that has remained too long on my shelf unread. It has been described as “Endo’s supreme achievement” and “one of the twentieth century’s finest novels”. I have read other stuff by Endo, but not for a few years.

no 1 ladies detective agency5. The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency – Alexander McCall Smith. This is another series that I’ve wanted to read for a long time. I picked up the first ten books in the series at various sales over the past few years, but just haven’t got around to reading them yet. I think I’d probably enjoy them and hopefully this year will be the year I finally get around to starting this series.

11-22-636. 11/22/63 – Stephen King. This was one of the books that I really wanted for Christmas. I did receive it and am excited about starting it soon. I’m sure it will be one of the ones on this list that I’ll get read this year.

jesus a theography7. Jesus: A Theography – Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola. This was another of the books I wanted for Christmas that I received. Viola’s Pagan Christianity? had a huge impact on the way I view my faith, and this one is one I’m hoping will challenge me as well.

pride and prejudice8. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen. I have never read this and it is seems like time that I did. There are two reasons I can think of as to why I should: first of all, it is a classic that everyone should probably read; secondly I want to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but should probably read this first to compare them. I have a copy on my Kobo that I might read on my holidays this year.

spiritual classics9. Spiritual Classics – ed. Richard Foster and Emilie Griffin. This book of selected readings for individuals and groups based on the twelve spiritual disciplines is one that I’ve started on at least a couple of occasions before, but have never got very far with. It is set out to be read and worked through in a year, so the New Year seems like a good time to get it started. Hopefully this time I’ll be able to get through it.

one year bible10. One Year Bible NLT (New Living Translation). I bought this for my Kobo a couple of years ago, but only read is very sporadically when I got it. This year i’m hoping I’ll be more disciplined with it. Time will tell, I guess!

So, that’s ten books that I’m resolving to read in 2013. I’ll maybe do a follow-up post in a few months time and see how much, if any, progress I’ve made with this. In the meantime, Happy New Year and may it be a good year of reading for you.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Resolve to Read in 2013 (January 1)

  1. I finally read my first Jane Austen last year and it was Pride and Prejudice recommended to me as the one to start with. I found it quite a good read as it’s easy to see the comedy in it and how they characters would have been written now. Great list 🙂

    • This will be my first Jane Austen book if I get around to reading it. It’s one of my wife’s favourites, so it’s about time I got it read. Thanks for dropping by and Happy New Year!

  2. Pride and Prejudice is another book that I want to finish reading. But it’s been a while since I read it that I might start it over again. I’m glad that you enjoyed Neverwhere. I think my favourite Neil Gaiman book is The Graveyard Book, but I’d like to read American Gods and his Sandman Graphic Novels.

    Have a Happy New Year and enjoy using your Chapters gift cards :).

  3. Happy New Year! Thanks for Visiting Jorie’s Reads.

    I really liked No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency and found 11/22/63 intriguing. Pride and Prejudice turns 200 later this month. It’s also a good read. Blessings!

    • I’ll have to read Pride and Prejudice now, then, if it’s turning 200 🙂 Blessings and a Happy New Year to you, too.

  4. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Resolved (January 3) « Two weeks from everywhere

  5. Pingback: Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Pride and Prejudice (January 25) « Two weeks from everywhere

Leave a Reply

