Top Ten Tuesday – Christmas Gifts (December 25)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week is a freebie week, meaning I can choose whatever topic I want, so I have chosen to list the ten books I received for Christmas today. I really did receive ten books, which makes the compilation of this list quite easy!

DSCF8557The following six books I received from my wife and children:

1. 11/22/63 – Stephen King

2. Jesus: A Theography – Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola

3. Clockwork Angels – Kevin J. Anderson and Neil Peart

4. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce

5. Master and Commander – Patrick O’Brian

6. The Time Keeper – Mitch Albom

The following book was a gift from my parents:

7. Interrogation of Silence: The Writings of George Mackay Brown – Rowena Murray and Brian Murray

The last three were from my secret Santa (SantaThing) at LibraryThing:

8. The Riddle of the Sands – Erskine Childers

9. Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood

10. The Eye of the World – Robert Jordan

I’m really happy with all of these and am looking forward to getting into them very soon.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Christmas Gifts (December 25)

  1. Margaret Atwood is a great writer, I hope you like her! I can assure you, if you become a fan, you’ll always be a fan and you’ll love anything she writes, from poetry to essays.

    • I read her for the first time last year and read ‘Surfacing’, which I really liked, so i am looking forward to this one. Thanks for dropping by.

    • This is the third year that I took part in SantaThing. I really like the randomness of it. Thanks for dropping by and I’ll be sure to check out the Stephen King review once I get the book read.

  2. That’s quite an eclectic collection! As a fan of Brandon Sanderson, I have wondered about jumping into the Wheel of Time, but have wondered if I need to start all the way back at the beginning? Which is kind of scary, since there are so many books and they are so fat!

    • I like to read almost anything and am always happy to try something new. I’ll see how I get on with the first Wheel of Time book before I decide to read any more of them. There are 12 in the series, so it may take me some time if I do enjoy the first one. Thanks for dropping by.

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday | Books That Make You Think ??? « Wordly Obsessions

    • Usually round about October or November I put together a wishlist of books for my family. Books, coffee and chocolate are all I ever want for Christmas. I don’t always get all the books on the list, but I rarely receive books I don’t enjoy. I’ve heard good things about 11/22/63 and am looking forward to reading it soon. When I was in my teens I read tons of Stephen King books and am now getting back to reading him again. Thanks for dropping by and have a great year of reading in 2013.

Leave a Reply

