Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Books of 2012 (December 18)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books I Read In 2012’. I’ve read more than 80 books so far this year, but hopefully I won’t have trouble narrowing it down to ten. The best book I read, which is also my favourite book of all time, is The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I have lost count of the number of times I have read it, but I won’t put it on the list as I’m going to keep my choices to books I read for the first time this year.

So, in no particular order, here are my top ten reads of the year:

  1. The Sisters Brothers – Patrick deWitt.
  2. The Invention of Hugo Cabret – Brian Selznick
  3. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
  4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs
  5. The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman
  6. The Shipping News – E. Annie Proulx
  7. Dinner With Lenny: The Last Long Interview with Leonard Bernstein – Jonathan Cott
  8. The Road – Cormac McCarthy
  9. The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman
  10. The Martian Chronicles – Ray Bradbury

sisters brothershugo cabretbook thiefMiss Peregrinelight between oceansshipping newsdinner with lennythe roadgraveyard bookmartian chronicles

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Books of 2012 (December 18)

    • The Sisters Brothers is such a great read. I’m hoping to get deWitt’s Ablutions for Christmas and am looking forward to reading it as well. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

