Top Ten Tuesday – New-To-Me Authors in 2012 (December 11)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012’. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to do this one, but upon checking my books read for this year I realised that there are more than 10 new-to-me authors on that list. So, in no particular order, here are the best ten:

1. ML Stedman – her debut novel, The Light Between Oceans, was one of the best books I read this year.

2. Brian Selznick – I read both The Invention of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck in January. They are both beautifully written and illustrated book that will delight people of all ages.

3. Suzanne Collins – I finally got around to reading The Hunger Games trilogy this year and wasn’t disappointed.

4. Markus Zusak – I had heard so many good things about The Book Thief. It was an excellent and moving read, well worth the great reviews it got.

5. Scott Westerfeld – I read six of his books this year – The Leviathan Trilogy and The Midnighters Trilogy. I also have his Succession series on the shelf waiting to be read. Not bad for an author I hadn’t really thought about reading before this year.

6. Rachel Hartman – her debut novel, Seraphina, came out this year. I read it, enjoyed it, and am looking forward to the next installment in the series.

7. E. Annie Proulx – she is an author I just never got around to reading, but after reading The Shipping News this year I know I need to read more. I recently picked up Accordion Wars, which hopefully I’ll get read next year.

8. Daniel H. Wilson – his Robopocalypse was another of my favourite reads this year, and I’m hoping that Amped will be in my Christmas stocking in a couple of weeks time.

9. Eric Walters – my daughter has been reading his books for years. I read We All Fall Down earlier this year and discovered why she enjoys reading his books so much. I hope to read more of his books during the coming year.

10. Cormac McCarthy – he’s another author I knew was good, but had never read anything by him. I changed that this year by reading both No Country For Old Men and The Road. There are definitely more of his books that I’ll be reading in the coming months.

Other authors I could have added to this list that I read for the first time this year include Patrick deWitt, Timothy Findley, Margaret Atwood, and Michael Morpurgo, among others.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New-To-Me Authors in 2012 (December 11)

    • Did you read ‘The Invention of Hugo Cabret’? If you liked ‘Wonderstruck’ then you’ll love Hugo as well. I hope you enjoy ‘The Light Between Oceans’ as much as I did. It’s a great read. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

