Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – A Christmas Carol (December 7)

christmas carol largeI’m trying to get into the spirit of the season, so I’ve chosen a Christmas classic for this week’s Friday meme combo – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Every Christmas Eve I watch the Alistair Sim movie version of this story, but I’m not really that sure if I have read the book or not. I might have when I was younger, who knows. Hopefully I’ll rectify that this year.

I think that most people are probably familiar with this story, but if not, here’s a short synopsis:

This engrossing tale relates Ebenezer Scrooge’s ghostly journeys through Christmases past, present, and future and his ultimate transformation from a harsh and grasping old miser to a charitable and compassionate human being. A perennial classic that has become as much a part of the holiday season as holly, mistletoe, and evergreen wreaths.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of A Christmas Carol:

Marley was dead, to begin with. There is no doubt whatever about that. The register of his burial was signed by the clergyman, the clerk, the undertaker, and the chief mourner. Scrooge signed it. And Scrooge’s name was good upon ‘Change for anything he chose to put his hand on.

Old Marley was as dead as a door-nail.

A good beginning and I guess you can’t be more dead than a door-nail!

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of A Christmas Carol:

The children drank the toast after her. It was the first of their proceedings which had no heartiness. Tiny Tim drank it last of all, but he didn’t care twopence for it. Scrooge was the ogre of the family. The mention of his name cast a dark shadow on the party, which was not dispelled for full five minutes.

I’m looking forward to reading this familiar story soon.

11 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – A Christmas Carol (December 7)

  1. I love the movie and book! Wise choice….

    Funny, this past week one of my Facebook statuses said: “I always watch Alastair Sim in Scrooge even if it scares the Dickens out of me.”

    🙂

  2. I wonder if Dickens can be attributed with creating the saying ‘dead as a doornail’? Or if like almost every other commonly used phrase, it came from Shakespeare first?

  3. I’ve been reading it with my son each Christmas for the past 5 years, and he’s seen Dickens’ Great-Grandson’s reading of it twice. A side note, once Ray Bradbury was asked what book he’d memorize to preserve should books ever be burned a la Fahrenheit 451, and he chose A Christmas Carol.

  4. I’ve seen several movie versions but have finally admitted to myself that I’ve never read it. I keep intending to. You have now inspired me.

    Thanks for including your post on Book Beginnings!

    • I really can’t remember if I have read it or not. It is such a familiar story, though. Thanks for visiting and for hosting Book Beginnings.

    • Other than one book that I read every year, I really haven’t thought much about doing this, either, but there are so many Christmas themed books out there that it shouldn’t be hard to find some good reading. Thanks for visiting and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Leave a Reply

