Booking Through Thursday – Records (December 6)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following:

Do you keep a list of the books you’ve read? How? In a journal? Through one of the online services? If so, WHY? To keep good records for future reference? To make sure you don’t accidentally reread? If not, why not? Too eager to move on to the next book? Too lazy? Never thought to bother?

I have been keeping a record of the books I read for over 10 years now. Originally I kept written journals, which I still have in a drawer somewhere. One year I also kept note of how many pages I was reading each day, but it became a guilt thing and lost its enjoyment. After that I just kept the start and end dates, with a short not on what I thought.

Now I keep a list on this blog, under the Reading tab, where I keep a list of books read and date completed. Occasionally I post a review, but I don’t do this for every book I read. I also take part regularly in a number of book blog memes, which also keep track of my current reading habits.

I use LibraryThing as a database of books that I own. Every book I own, whether hard copy or e-book, is listed there. I use GoodReads to keep track of my current reading, so I try to remember to note which page of my current reads I am on. When I have completed a book I also pin a picture of the cover to my ‘Books Read’ board on Pinterest, where I also have a board of books worth reading. Another place where I have some book lists is Listoraphy, but I haven’t updated anything there for a few months. A lot of the sites I frequent have the option of posting to Twitter or Facebook, so people who follow or friend me on these sites can also get a picture of my current reading habits.

I try not to get too obsessive with all of this, but I enjoy keeping track of my books and reading in this way. I also like seeing what others have been reading and many of these sites give me the opportunity to do so. What I enjoy about all of this is the ability to look back over a number of years and to see in what ways my reading habits have changed or to see where there are similar trends.

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Records (December 6)

  1. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I just like to keep track for the sake of keeping track. I have a bit of an OCD.

    I have yet to fully utilize my Goodreads account. I just can’t find the time to enter all of my books. Oh well maybe someday.

  2. I think it would be fun having a 10 year record. You could see if your taste changed or stayed the same. I commend you for keeping track so long.

    Thanks for stopping by my bTT and sharing yours.

Leave a Reply

