Top Ten Tuesday – Thankfulness (November 20)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books/Authors I’m Thankful For’. I’m going to go with authors and will mention which of their books have made me thankful.

1. C.S. Lewis – he is my favourite writer, from his Chronicles of Narnia through to his theological writings, such as Mere Christianity. The final course I took for my undergrad degree was one on the Apologetics of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien (who will be next on the list). I couldn’t have wished for a better course with which to complete this part of my studies. I like to return to Lewis’s books from time to time and find that they never go out of date. Recently I have been reading through the Chronicles again with my son. As well as having almost everything that he wrote, I also have a large collection of books about Lewis.

2. J.R.R. Tolkien – he’s not my favourite writer, but he did write my favourite book – The Hobbit. I’m also a big fan of The Lord of the Rings, but have to admit that I was very disappointed with the movies. Tolkien and Lewis were great friends, so it is apt that these two literary giants top my thankfulness list.

3.  Roald Dahl – along with Lewis and Tolkien, Dahl is mainly to blame for my love of reading. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was one of the first books I read by myself and I haven’t been able to stop since.

4. Philip Yancey – he writes about faith in a way that I would love to be able to. In his book What’s So Amazing About Grace I discovered the true meaning of the word ‘grace’.

5. Ray Bradbury – the diversity of his writing and his way with words make me want to come back to his books time and time again. He is probably my favourite writer of short stories. I haven’t read nearly everything he wrote, but I am getting there slowly.

6. Rob Bell – his books have helped me in my faith journey and given me permission to question many things that have troubled me over the years with organized religion. My favourite books of his are Velvet Elvis and Love Wins.

7. Frank Viola – reading his book Pagan Christianity? (co-authored with George Barna) has been a major turning point in my faith journey. I am thankful for the way in which he has demonstrated that the institutional church is not an honest reflection of the Christian faith.

8. Farley Mowat – I only discovered him after I moved to Canada, but I have tried to read as much of him as I can in those 18 years. The first book of his I read was The Farfarers and after that I knew I had to read more. He is definitely my favourite Canadian author.

9. J.K. Rowling – all I need to say is two words – Harry Potter!

10. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – again, really all I need to say is two words – Sherlock Holmes!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Thankfulness (November 20)

  1. Great list–so many fantastic authors. I’ve not read everything of Philip Yancey’s, but some of what I’ve read has been stunningly beautiful. And I’m totally with you on Lewis, Tolkien, and Rowling, and probably Conan Doyle–I just need to read more of him!

  2. We have at least half this list in common 🙂 Lewis, Tolkien, Rowling, Bradbury, Yancey… And I’ve read a lot of Sherlock Holmes too. Roald Dahl was never quite so much of a favourite for me. The remaining three I’ve never heard of… Maybe worth checking out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

