Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Ellen and the Hummingtree (November 16)

For this week’s Friday meme combo I have chosen Ellen and the Hummingtree by Audrey Austin. This is a book by a local author that was just released last weekend. Unfortunately, I was out of town and unable to attend the launching, but I managed to pick up a copy a couple of days ago. The author gives the following description:

A strong woman of faith,
Ellen sits beneath her
Hummingtree and talks to God
through the yellow quartz rock.

She gifts us with glimpses of
her life and her
relationship with God.

She allows us to witness
her vulnerability.

She invites us into her heart
where we experience
her joys and sorrows.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

Book Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

From the beginning of Ellen and the Hummingtree:

I swear sometimes it feels like all the testy trauma tore up my life just yesterday but it has, in fact, been many long and eventful years since my marriage stopped cold in its tracks and ended in that dirty word called divorce.

I like this beginning and get the feeling that there’s quite the story to be told in the coming pages.

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Ellen and the Hummingtree:

I’m warmly wrapped but I’m damn near freezing. It’s not a somatic thing. My mind wanders and my spirit searches for what it knows it needs. The soul knows. But it’s not telling; at least not today.

I haven’t reached this point in the book yet, as I only started reading it last night, so I’m not sure what’s happening here, but I’m looking forward to getting to this point and beyond.

If these excerpts have piqued your curiosity enough, then check out more about the book HERE with details of how you can obtain your own copy.

5 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Ellen and the Hummingtree (November 16)

Leave a Reply

