Musing Mondays (November 12)

Musing Mondays is a weekly book meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. This week’s musing says…

For this week’s Musing Monday, I’m going to give you the option to answer any of the following questions — or, if you prefer, you can answer them all! Have fun! {questions were supplied by my readers when asked for suggestions}

• If you had to choose only 3 books to read forever, which ones would you choose? {source}
• Is there a character that you absolutely love but that you cannot get a good mental picture of? {source}
• Make a plea for your favorite book. Make others wanna read it! {source}
• If you could create a soundtrack for a book you’ve read recently, which songs would you use and why? {source}
• Do you read outside your preferred genre? Has your preferred genre changed? {source}
• Do you have a favorite book/movie combination? {source}
• Name a book that you thought you wouldn’t like much, but you ended up loving. {source}
• If you were Book Czar of the world, is there one book you would like to require every kid to read? {source}

I haven’t done a MM post for almost a month, so I’ll see how many of these I can answer to make up for my absence:

If you had to choose only 3 books to read forever, which ones would you choose?

  1. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. The Message – Eugene Peterson
  3. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Is there a character that you absolutely love but that you cannot get a good mental picture of?

I usually don’t have a problem picturing characters I love from books. However, there are some that when I see them in a movie adaptation look nothing like the mental picture I had.

Make a plea for your favorite book. Make others wanna read it!

My favourite book, which should come as no surprise to anyone who knows me, is J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I don’t really need to plead a case for it. If you haven’t read it, then why not? You are missing out on one of the most wonderful stories of all time!

If you could create a soundtrack for a book you’ve read recently, which songs would you use and why?

I never really think about music when I’m reading, although I’ll often listen to it whilst reading.

Do you read outside your preferred genre? Has your preferred genre changed?

I find thinking in terms of reading genres to be too restrictive. I just love reading and my tastes at any given time usually reflect my mood at the time.

Do you have a favorite book/movie combination?

I often have problems with what some movie-makers do with books I love. The Lord of the Rings is one particular series of movies that I have written about at length elsewhere on this blog – these movies are great movies, but they do not tell Tolkien’s story very well at all. Peter Jackson really wrecked a lot of the central themes and missed many important parts  of the stories, as well as changing the nature of some of the characters, and leaving out ones that were integral to the overall story.

Having said this, however, there have been some adaptations of books that have worked fairly well for me in recent times. I have really enjoyed Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock Holmes, and I also enjoyed Hugo, which I felt was a good representation of The Invention of Hugo Cabret.

Name a book that you thought you wouldn’t like much, but you ended up loving.

I actually wasn’t sure that I would enjoy Solzhenitsyn’s One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich. I originally read it on the recommendation of a friend and now it is one of my favourites.

If you were Book Czar of the world, is there one book you would like to require every kid to read?

Based on some of my earlier answers, there is no contest – The Hobbit. It just has to be read!

Well, I guess I managed to answer them all and, hopefully, I won’t miss out on Musing Mondays again for as long as I did this time!

One thought on “Musing Mondays (November 12)

  1. Pingback: Book Review | ‘One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich’ by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn « Wordly Obsessions

Leave a Reply

