Top Ten Tuesday – Childhood Favourites (November 6)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week the topic is: ‘Top Ten Tuesday Freebie! Your time to pick whatever topic you’d like!’ I have chosen my top 10 Childhood Favourites, which is an earlier Top Ten Tuesday that I missed out on. So, here goes:

1. The Hobbit (J.R.R. Tolkien) – how could this not be number one on my list? It is over 30 years ago that I first read this and it was an instant favourite. It is still my number one read. I also remember listening to/watching Bernard Cribbins reading this on Jackanory in the mid-1970s.

2. The Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis) – a series of books that I still enjoy reading. I was probably 8 or 9 when I first read them.

3. The Moomin books (Tove Jansson) – I have great memories of reading and rereading these books when I was much younger. I just discovered new editions of them published in recent years by Square Fish and have started collecting them again.

4. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Roald Dahl) – this is still a magical read for me. Roald Dahl books were a big part of my childhood. This love of all things Dahl is also shared now by my daughter.

5. Treasure Island (Robert Louis Stevenson) – it has pirates and hidden treasure. What more does a young boy need?

6. Just William books (Richmal Crompton) – I enjoyed the books and also watching the TV show based on the books. Although I shared his name, I wasn’t as adventurous as the title character, which was probably a relief to my parents!

7. The Faraway Tree stories (Enid Blyton) – I still have my copy of The Folk of the Faraway Tree, that I remember being read to me every night when I was about 7. For some reason I drew a picture of a dalek inside the front cover.

8. Fattypuffs and Thinifers (Andre Maurois) – this is the first book I remember having to write a book report on for school. I recently received a copy of this, read it and remembered why I liked it so much when I was younger.

9. The Kon-Tiki Expedition (Thor Heyerdal) – I read this true story quite a few times and still remember the fascination I had with the fact that Heyerdal’s raft was made of balsa wood. One of our school projects at the time was making our own model rafts out of balsa wood.

10. The Paddington Bear books (Michael Bond) – another set of books that I enjoyed along with a TV show based on the stories. Apparently a live action movie based on the books is set for release in 2014.  I wait with much anticipation.

I read lots of books when I was a child. Some are now distant memories, but often I see a book that instantly takes me back to the magical moment when, as a child, I first read it.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Childhood Favourites (November 6)

    • What I like most is when my own kids decide to read something because I told them I liked it when I was their age. My 13 year old daughter just started reading The Hobbit for the first time and seems to be enjoying it. Thanks for visiting.

  1. Lots of good ones there… I did not read some of them until later in life though. Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit in my upper teens. Narnia not until in my twenties. In childhood I read Moomin as comic strips, the books not until later (but then I Ioved them). From childhood I do remember Paddington Bear and William. Actually I just recently (re)read one William-book on my Kindle which I found for free, I think it was “More William” 😉

Leave a Reply

