Booking Through Thursday – Cover Story Part 2 (October 25)

This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following question:

The flip side of last week’s …

Are there any good books that you read IN SPITE OF the cover and ended up wondering what on earth the artist and publisher were thinking to pair up a cover that so badly represented a perfectly good book?

And … if you didn’t like the cover, what made you pick up the book? The author? Assigned reading from school? A recommendation from a friend?

This is a harder question to answer than I thought it would be. I had to read a lot books for college that had dull covers, but this is often the case with textbooks anyway. I also have a lot of older books that I have enjoyed that have very plain covers, but I read them either because they were written by an author I had read before or were recommended by someone who I knew I could trust.

The only book I can think of from recently is the new J.K. Rowling book, The Casual Vacancy. It’s a book I wanted to read anyway, regardless of the cover. I enjoyed it as well, but not as much as her Harry Potter books. In all probability the author or the publishers deliberately chose a fairly plain cover. They knew it would be a good seller going on the author’s name alone and all the curiosity surrounding the fact that it wasn’t a Harry Potter book.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday – Cover Story Part 2 (October 25)

Leave a Reply

