Booking Through Thursday – Cover Story (October 18)

This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following:

They say you can’t judge a book by its cover, but there’s no question that it can make a difference! What book(s) have your favorite covers? Something that’s perfect for the story, the tone, the colors, the mood…And did you pick up the book BECAUSE of the cover? Or were you going to read it anyway, and the cover was just serendipitous?

My favourite book cover is the one pictured left of the cover of the first copy of The Hobbit that I owned. I still have it, but it is falling apart, because I have read it so often. I now have a hardcover edition that I read whenever I get the desire to read it again (at least once every other year). I don’t think I bought it because of the cover, but more because I wanted my own copy and this may have been the only one available in the store at the time. It is a great cover, though, and I think it captures the essence of the story well. What I also like about it is that it was also painted by the author himself.

My favourite covers of recent years have been the ones for Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan series. I am fascinated by the whole steampunk thing and the look of these covers drew me in to want to know more. Once I started the first book I knew that this would be a series I would enjoy, and I did.

 

11 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Cover Story (October 18)

  1. Great post. The importance of a book’s cover cannot be over-emphasized. The primary purpose of a cover is to pique the interest of a potential buyer. The secondary purpose is to encapsulate the essence of the story. The few seconds one devotes to glancing at a cover determines whether there is enough interest to turn the book over and read the back cover copy. To me, it’s a first impression, similar to meeting an individual for the first time. Are they interesting? Engaging? Do I want to learn more about them? Or am I turned off and want to move on as quickly as possible?

    Shoddy, unprofessional book covers are usually passed over (at least by me). The old saying that “you only have one chance to make a good impression” applies to book covers also, perhaps even more so. A story that might otherwise be a great read could possibly be left on a bookshelf collecting dust as a result of not possessing a professional, engaging cover.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  2. The Leviathan covers do look cool. I have the first book on my shelf but I haven’t read it yet. I don’t judge covers until I read the book, though. I love The Hobbit, but it has various covers and my copy has a completely different cover than yours! Thanks for stopping by!

    • I haven’t read Uglies yet, but it is on my TBR. I read and enjoyed both his Leviathan and Midnighters trilogies, even though they are not similar to each other. Thanks for dropping by and have a great weekend.

    • You’ll need to get it put on hold for you. It’s a great series. I hope you get to read it soon. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

