Friday Finds (September 28)

FRIDAY FINDS… is where you share the book titles you discovered or heard about during the past week. These can be books you were told about, books you discovered while browsing blogs/bookstores online, or books that you actually purchased. This event is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

As usual MizB asks the question:

What great books did you hear about/discover this past week? Share with us your FRIDAY FINDS!

I had a really good week this week and bought/received the following great reads:

Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman. My wife bought me a used copy of this from Bearly Used Book in Parry Sound. I hope to read this one very soon.

Four Past Midnight – Stephen King. This was another none my wife bought for me from Bearly Used Books. I haven’t read any of these stories before, so I’m looking forward to reading them soon.

Night Shift – Stephen King. One more that my wife bought for me from Bearly Used Books. I read this collection almost 30 years ago and am enjoying reacquainting myself with the stories again.

Cujo – Stephen King. I found this one in a local thrift store for $0.25. I’m slowly rebuilding my Stephen King collection and rereading them as I find them. I used to have a lot of his books, but sold them before I emigrated to Canada 18 years ago.

The Perks of Being a Wallfklower – Stephen Chbosky. With all the hype surrounding the newly released movie, I was glad to find the book in another of our local thrift stores for $0.25. I’ll read it first before eventually seeing the movie.

Dinner with Lenny: The Last Long Interview with Leonard Bernstein – Jonathan Cott. I received an ARC e-book of this one earlier this week from NetGalley. I’m about two-thirds of the way through it already and am thoroughly enjoying it. It should be out early next year.

The Raven and Other Poems – Edgar Allan Poe. I bought this nice little volume from Scholastic through my daughter’s school. It’s good to have with Halloween just around the corner.

The Casual Vacancy – JK Rowling. Knowing that I would eventually want to read this, I gave in and pre-ordered it for half price from Chapters/Indigo. It came in the mail today, but so far I’ve only managed the first fifteen pages. I’ll probably have it read by Monday or Tuesday.

ParaNorman: A Novel – Elizabeth Cody Kimmel. This one came in the mail today, but as part of a giveaway prize pack I won online a few weeks ago. I blogged about it HERE earlier today. I want to read this one before seeing the movie as well.

Leave a Reply

