Top Ten Tuesday – Unfinished Series (September 25)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

Again, it has been a few weeks since I participated in Top Ten Tuesday. I’m not sure if I can come up with a list of ten for this week’s topic, ‘Top Ten Series I Haven’t Finished’, but I know there are quite a few. So here goes:

1. The Inkheart trilogy by Cornelia Funke. I read the first book, Inkheart, and really enjoyed it. I wanted to read the whole series, but just never got back to it. I may have to read the first one again before I read the others, because I fear that I may not remember enough of it now!

2. The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. I read the first book and saw the movie, but at this point I have no desire to read the rest or see the other movies. I didn’t think it was terrible, but maybe it really just isn’t my thing.

3. A Series of Unfortunate Books by Lemony Snicket. I read the first three books in this series and enjoyed them enough to want to read the other ten at some time. I will return to them at some point.

4. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith. I have the first ten books in this series (I picked them up on sale and at various book sales or thrift stores), but I only got part way through the first one. From what I read I think I will en joy this series, but just haven’t been able to find the time yet!

I knew this would be a fairly difficult top ten. I usually try to finish a series once I’ve started it. So, the following six series are ones I really want to read, but haven’t even got around to starting them yet:

5. The Vampire Chronicles series by Anne Rice. I have copy of the first book in the series, Interview With the Vampire, but haven’t started it yet. It’s even on one of my book challenges for this year, but I fear it may not get read by the end of the year. This is such a large series that I might never get beyond the first one if I even get that far.

6. The His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman. The first book, Northern Lights (The Golden Compass), is another book I picked up with the intention of reading this year, but other books just got in the way. I would like to get this series read, but maybe now just isn’t the time.

7. The A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. I received a copy of the first book, A Game of Thrones, a couple of years ago, but it has always seemed to me to be such a daunting read, that I have avoided it thus far. I know I would enjoy this series, but am I willing to invest the time?

8. The Dark Tower series by Stephen King. I read a lot of Stephen King’s earlier books when I was younger, but then stopped reading him for a while. Recently I’ve gone back to reading some of his stuff and finding that I still enjoy him. I never read any of The Dark Tower books, but this is something I will have to rectify soon.

9. The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. I have read the Leviathan and the Midnighters series by Westerfeld and enjoyed them both. Both myself and my daughter want to read Uglies, but haven’t found the series at a good price yet. We will eventually, though.

10. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. My wife keeps nagging me to read this series, but I am still undecided. I may have to give in at some point, but the prospect doesn’t excite me right now. There are just so many books and spin-offs that I may never emerge again.

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Unfinished Series (September 25)

  1. It took me so long to get through Inkheart – I kept putting it down and forgetting about it – that I couldn’t be bothered to read the others. And I also want to read Uglies! Leviathan was fun; I’m interested to see what else Westerfeld can do.

    • I really enjoyed the Leviathan books. Maybe you should check out his Midnighters trilogy. I picked them up at a really good price from BookCloseouts (.com or .ca depending on where you live). Thanks for dropping by.

  2. There are some great (and not so great) series on that list. I have to recommend The Dark Tower series. I had them finished until King published Wind Through The Keyhole. I really enjoyed them. I started reading the graphic novel adaptations too.

  3. Inkheart! I totally forgot about that series, but it’s one I haven’t finished as well. I would strongly urge you to go back to His Dark Materials, though. Those are some of my favorite books of all time. Gorgeous, gorgeous series.

  4. I’ve started on The Song of Fire And Ice series, didn’t add it to my list however, but trying to read them with the seasons on the TV series since I started reading them after I started watching them. Also been considering reading the Dark Tower series at some point, but should probably try to knock a series or two out before picking up another one.

    • I haven’t seen the TV series, due to the fact that we don’t subscribe to any TV channels. If I ever see the DVDs on sale at a good price I might be tempted to buy them.

  5. If you find the Uglies series hard going after book #1, just know that book #4 was AWESOME. Loved that book. I should go back and read the series, actually, now that I think of it…

    Thanks for sharing your list!

  6. I managed to find the Uglies series with the bargain books once. Sadly, I only bought the first because I didn’t know if I would like the series. Now, I realize they were clearing out the old covers (the ones with people’s faces), and I had to buy the rest in the more expensive surgical white covers. 😦

    I read the first Inkheart and thought it was decent, but I have never been motivated to read the rest.

    • I’m still hoping to pick up Uglies at a used bookstore or on sale somewhere, but I may have to just get them at full price. I need to read them regardless. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

