Booking Through Thursday – School Books (September 6)

This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following:

We all had to read things in school that we didn’t like … but what about something you read for a class that you ended up liking (or loving)? An author you discovered that you might not have found? A genre you hadn’t thought about?

There are a few books I remember from school that I still enjoy reading. The one that comes to mind the most is The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I read this at school when I was about 8 or 9 and it is still probably my favourite book. I credit it also with why I fell in love with reading. It also led me to reading The Lord of the Rings books in my early teens. I never tire of reading Tolkien.

Two books I had to read in high school that I really enjoyed and have returned to a few times since are 1984 by George Orwell and The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway. I have read other books by both of these authors since then and have usually enjoyed them, too.

There were probably other books I enjoyed during my school days, but these three are the most memorable for me.

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – School Books (September 6)

    • I have real mixed feelings about The Hobbit movie. I don’t trust Peter Jackson with it, but I’ll wait and see. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. When I was in school, way back when, we weren’t given any assigned reading, we could choose our own books to read, but we had to turn in those dreaded book reports after each book we read. So every week or two we visited the school library and chose a book to read that week. Thanks for the visit today.

Leave a Reply

