Top Ten Tuesday – top 10 books on my Fall TBR list (September 4)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

I haven’t done this one for a while, but I like this week’s topic, which is the ‘Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List’. I have a large pile of unread books, so my list will probably mainly be from this pile, although there are some upcoming releases I’d like to read as well. So here goes:

1. In The First Circle – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. I’ve started this book on at least two occasions before and been distracted by other books and never returned to it. This time, however, I am determined to get it completed!

2. Silence – Shusaku Endo. I’ve had this one on my shelf for at least three years, so it is time to get it read. I’ve read other writings by Endo and enjoyed them, but this one is regarded by many as his best, so I really should read it soon.

3. The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling. Having read all of the Harry Potter books makes this a must read. I keep seeing places where I can pre-order and I’m almost at the point of giving in now and doing that. It’s out in just over 3 weeks, so it’s not long to wait now.

4. 1982 – Jian Ghomeshi. I just heard about this book recently. It is Ghomeshi’s first book and is also non-fiction, based on his life as a 15 year-old in the year 1982. I enjoy his work on CBC, so I imagine I’ll like this book as well.

5. Amped – Daniel H. Wilson. This one is not long released and I need to pick up a copy soon. I thoroughly enjoyed Wilson’s Robopocalypse, so I’m looking forward to reading this one as well.

6. Friday Night Lights – H.G. Bissinger. The movie of this book is one of my favourite sports movies, so this one really needs to be read. It’s also one that is part of one of my reading challenges for the year, although I seem to have neglected them lately in favour of other books!

7. The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman. This is another book that I barely started earlier this year and got interrupted without ever getting back to it. It will be a good one to get into as the nights get longer.

8. 15 Days of Prayer with Thomas Merton – Andre Gozier. I won a free e-book of my choice up to $10.00 last week and chose this book. I always enjoy reading Merton and I’m hoping this one will be an inspiration and challenge to me.

9. The Illustrated Man – Ray Bradbury. I picked this one up earlier this year and am looking forward to reading it soon. I’m slowly working my way through his books and have not been disappointed so far.

10. The Living – Annie Dillard. I haven’t read anything by Annie Dillard for a while and this one has been on my shelf for a couple of years or more, so it’s time to get it read. I think I’ll like it.

It’ll be interesting come the end of the year to see how many of these I’ll actually get read before then, but hopefully I’ll get to at least half of them. Maybe I’ll post an update at Christmas in regards to this!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – top 10 books on my Fall TBR list (September 4)

Leave a Reply

