Booking Through Thursday – Branching Out (August 9)

This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following questions:

Name a book you love in a genre you normally don’t care for. What made you decide to read it? Did it make you want to try more in that genre?

What genre do you avoid reading and why?

I think I need to answer the last question first. I tend not to think too much in terms of genre as it can narrow your mind to the possibilities of enjoying a certain book based on this. My tastes are quite eclectic generally speaking. Having said that, I probably avoid books that seem to be too romantically inclined or look too ‘chick lit’ for me. This answer clears the way for me to answer the first lot of questions now. I have read a few books that may have seemed to be romance or ‘chick lit’, and have found them to be enjoyable enough. One that particularly sticks out in my mind is Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah. I won a review copy through LibraryThing.com and as I got into it I couldn’t put it down and had to know what happened next. If you are interested my review is HERE.

Leave a Reply

