WWW Wednesdays (July 11)

To play along with this weekly book event, hosted by Should Be Reading, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers for this week:

What are you currently reading? I just started reading The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx. I’m not that far into it yet, but so far I’m enjoying it. It has been on my TBR list for a while, so I figured it was time to get it read.

What did you recently finish reading? I seem to have had a very productive week and have finished 5 books since last Wednesday:

  • The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman. This is a great debut novel and well worth reading (review).
  • Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero – Michell Plested. First of a new series for children of all ages by Canadian author, Michell Plested. Good, clean fun (review).
  • Ayn Rand’s Anthem: The Graphic Novel – Charles Santino, Joe Staton (Illustrator), Ayn Rand. A decent graphic novel version of Ayn Rand’s classic.
  • Catching Fire and Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins. I thought it was about time that I got this series finished, so I did! I actually think that this got better as the series progressed. I loved that the ending wasn’t too predictable. Great series!

What do you think you’ll read next? I haven’t really decided yet, but I’m leaning towards Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh. I’ll see how it goes.

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (July 11)

  1. I so want to read Anthem the graphic novel – so so so bad. I also would love to read Shipping News since it’s a classic to some people and some people just hate Proulx. Hopefully, I will get to it soon, but in the mean time I will read your review. : )

    • It’s a black and white graphic novel, which I really think captured the spirit of the book better than a colour one would have. I thought it was very faithful to the original.

  2. Wow, what a list! I read The Shipping News back in high school, and I wasn’t too impressed, but I might appreciate it more now that I’m older. The movie was okay, too. And I didn’t realize there was a graphic novel of Anthem…but I shouldn’t be surprised. Everything’s being made into a graphic novel. I’m glad you enjoyed The Hunger Games series. As you saw on my blog, those are next on my list.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • So far I am enjoying The Shipping News, but it is different for sure. Once I got the Hunger Games books started I found it hard to put them down. I can’t normally get through so many books in such short a time. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

  3. Wow you did have a productive week, I’m impressed. Great list. I read Shipping News years ago and I couldn’t really get into it. Like Chris, I think I would probably enjoy it more now, I should give it another shot.
    Thanks for coming by my blog, it’s nice to meet you. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by. Nice to meet you, too. I don’t normally manage so much in one week, but I couldn’t put the Hunger Games books down!

    • I saw the movie of Trainspotting when it came out, but never got around to reading it, so I’m looking forward to reading it soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

