Tune in Tuesday – 1985 (July 10)

Tune in Tuesday is a weekly music feature hosted by Ginger at GReads. It’s a great way to share some tunes that you enjoy and to spread some music around the blogosphere. If you want to take part in this feature just put it up on your blog and share the link at GReads.

For July GReads asks the following:

What were you listening to when you were a teenager? We all come from different decades, with different tunes.  For this month, please pick some of your favorite songs that bring you back to those glorious teenage years!

This week I have chosen 1985, which was the last of my teenage years. It was also the first year I flew across the Atlantic (landing in Chicago), not knowing that I would eventually live on this side of the pond! Other things that happened in 1985 were: I bought my first car, a yellow Vauxhall Chevette, and passed my driving test.

Here are some of my favourite tunes from 1985:

And She Was – Talking Heads

Kayleigh – Marillion

When Love Breaks Down – Prefab Sprout

In A Lifetime – Clannad and Bono

Alive and Kicking – Simple Minds

3 thoughts on “Tune in Tuesday – 1985 (July 10)

  1. Yay! I finally found someone older than me… if only by a few years. And what I find INCREDIBLE is that you like Kayleigh by Marillion! Such an obscure song that nobody ever knows – but I have it on my favorites on my MP3 so I hear it at least once a week (more if I’m in the mood to work out more). I was convinced I was going to name my child Kayleigh. Great choice of songs this week. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • lol! I never really think of myself as being that old! I loved the 80’s, but I guess they are far behind me now 😦 Kayleigh was a huge hit in Scotland, where I grew up. One of my cousins called his daughter Kayleigh. I remember when she was born and trying to explain to older relatives why this name and why the spelling. She’s in her 20’s now and has to kids of her own. Thanks for stopping by and have a great week.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten 80s Songs #7: Marillion - Kayleigh

Leave a Reply

