Top Ten Tuesday – Unread (July 10)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week is a ‘freebie’ week, which means it’s up to me to choose my topic. So I have chosen ‘The Top Ten Books That Have Been On My Shelf For The Longest But I’ve Never Read’. I buy loads of books in the hope that some day I’ll get around to reading them, but I realise that there are many that I bought years ago that still remain unread. So, here’s ten that I know I have had for almost longer than I can remember, yet for some reason or other still have not read:

  1. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy. I went through a period when I stocked up on the classics, especially Russian books. I read a few, but this one always seems like it is too big. I’d like to read it, but so far have always avoided doing so.
  2. The Idiot – Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I really enjoyed Crime and Punishment, so I picked up The Idiot pretty much right away, but I couldn’t get into it. I’m not sure if I’ll ever get back to it.
  3. The Pelican Brief – John Grisham. I picked this one up not long after seeing the movie, which I really enjoyed. It sits beside a few other John Grisham books that I haven’t got around to reading yet either! Maybe I need to have a Grisham marathon to get through them all.
  4. A Brief History of Time – Stephen Hawking. This seemed to be the book to buy at one time, but nobody said I had to read it!
  5. The Iliad – Homer. I struggled through The Odyssey, enjoyable though it was, and just never got around to this one.
  6. Peer Gynt – Henrik Ibsen. This is one I really want to read, because Grieg’s suite of music based on the story is a huge favourite of mine. Each time I try to read it I just can’t get very far. I may persevere one of these days!
  7. Barney’s Version – Mordecai Richler. A book that is often highly recommended, but I just can’t seem to get it read.
  8. Russka: The Novel of Russia – Edward Rutherfurd. I read London and really liked it, so picked up Russka. However, the size of Rutherfurd’s books are quite daunting and I haven’t managed to find the time to allow myself to get through this one.
  9. Rob Roy – Sir Walter Scott. Being Scottish, I really should have read this one by now. As further confession, I haven’t read Ivanhoe either! They look good on my shelf, anyway!
  10. Complete Works of William Shakespeare – William Shakespeare. My knowledge of Shakespeare is confined to what I had to read in school. His complete works is one of those books that a person should have on their bookshelf, even if it never gets read.

I could add quite a few more to this list, but these are ones that I know I’ve had for a long time.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Unread (July 10)

Leave a Reply

