Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero (July 6)

This week I have chosen Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero by Michell Plested as my choice of book for this weekly meme combo. I received an ARC from LibrayThing of this book, published by Five Rivers Publishing. I’m not that far into it yet, but am looking forward to reading it this weekend. My daughter, but she wants me to write the review! It is described on Five Rivers website as follows:

A delightful and truly Canadian tale of a 12 year old boy’s quest to protect his prairie town of Cranberry Flats, and in his search to acquire super-powers finds the most awesome power of all lies within his own inherent integrity.

So, on to this weeks excerpts!

Book Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero:

Welcome to Cranberry Flats, population 3,500. At least, that’s what the sign outside of town says. Actually, there are 3,493 people, 96 dogs, 371 cats, and a whole bunch of cows, horses, and chickens. I know because I checked.

My name is Mik Murdoch. I’m nine years old and I’ve been in Cranberry Flats all my life.

If nothing else, Mik Murdoch is a stickler for detail! I’ll have to read on, I guess, to find out what kind of superhero he is, or even if he really is one at all.

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero:

What kind of superhero loses his sidekick, tools and costume in the same night? What kind of superhero cries? I guess I’m no superhero.

Well, that’s it for this week. Hopefully I’ll find out soon if things improve for Mik Murdoch!

7 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Mik Murdoch: Boy Superhero (July 6)

  1. Looks like a cute story.

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings on Fridays. I’d like to drum up some more participants, and one idea I had was this: if you are on Twitter, please tweet a link to your post using the has tag #BookBeginnings. Maybe in connection with #FridayReads, if you participate in that twitter event. Thanks!

    • Thanks. I am on Twitter, so I’ll start using the #BookBeginnings hashtag and I’ll try to drum up some interest among my book-loving friends as well. It’s a great way to discover new reads. Thanks for hosting it.

Leave a Reply

