Tune in Tuesday: my teen years – 1983

Tune in Tuesday is a weekly music feature hosted by Ginger at GReads. It’s a great way to share some tunes that you enjoy and to spread some music around the blogosphere. If you want to take part in this feature just put it up on your blog and share the link at GReads.

For July GReads asks the following:

What were you listening to when you were a teenager? We all come from different decades, with different tunes.  For this month, please pick some of your favorite songs that bring you back to those glorious teenage years!

In 1983 I was 17 years old and some of my musical tastes began to change. It was also the year I left school and joined the post office. In my early teen years all I mainly listened to was heavy metal. I was a huge AC/DC and Motorhead fan. In the summer of ’83 I bought an album called War, by a young Irish band called U2. As they say, the rest is history. I still enjoyed some metal, but I also started to enjoy other stuff. These days I don’t really think much about labels or genres, and my musical tastes are quite eclectic, just like my taste in books.

So, here are some of my favourite tunes from 1983:

U2 – ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’ (live at Red Rocks in 1983)

Eurythmics – ‘Here Comes The Rain Again’ (they shot this video in Orkney, where I was living at the time)

The Police – ‘Wrapped Around Your Finger’

Marillion – ‘He Knows You Know’ (contains the awesome line – ‘singing psychedelic praises to the depths of the china bowl)

Def Leppard – ‘Rock of Ages’ (Pyromania was one of my favourite albums at the time, but I haven’t listened to it for ages. I probably should before I pass any judgement on it)

1983 seems to have been not too bad a year for music. What were you listening to then or in your teen years, whenever they may have been?

3 thoughts on “Tune in Tuesday: my teen years – 1983

  1. I liked War by U2, we used to listen to it all the time. I liked them less and less after that though. I still listen to Def Leppard and I still like it. You should try it again and see if you still like it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

