WWW Wednesdays (June 20)

To play along with this weekly book event, hosted by Should Be Reading, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

Here are my answers for this week?

What are you currently reading? I am almost finished The Wars by Timothy Findley. This is the first book I have read by Findley, a Canadian author, who incidentally died ten years ago tomorrow. I have enjoyed the book so far and the way the story has slowly unfolded, even though the conclusion has been hinted at different moments along the way. I would like to read something else by Findley at some time and am thinking of perhaps Not Wanted on the Voyage or Famous Last Words.

What did you recently finish reading? I finished a couple of books this past week – Inukshuk by Gregory Spatz and the graphic novel of Rick Riordan’s The Lightning Thief. Inukshuk was a great read and I already posted a review of it on this blog. The graphic novel was pretty good as well, although there were a couple of things from the book missing in the graphic version that I thought might have brought clarity to a couple of things in the story. Thankfully it wasn’t as bad as the movie!

What do you think you’ll read next? I was granted access to a couple of galleys through NetGalley today, so I think I’ll check them out soon. They are Who Is Jesus?: Linking the Historical Jesus with the Christ of Faith by Darrell Bock and The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen by Susin Nielsen. Both of these books are released in September, so I have a bit of time before I need to get them read. If I don’t start one of these I may get back to The October Country (Ray Bradbury), which I had previously started.

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (June 20)

  1. I haven’t heard of most of these novels, though they all look interesting. October Country was recommended to me because I love Ray Bradbury so much. Haven’t checked it out yet, though.

    • Fahrenheit 451 is my favourite by him, but I think you are right – a lot of people have been reminded about how great his stuff was probably because he just died. I read The Martian Chronicles a couple of months ago for the first time and I also recently read Something Wicked This Way Comes. I enjoyed them both, but I still have tons of his stuff to get through! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

