Top Ten Tuesday – Summer Reading (June 19)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic. This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books on the Summer TBR List

It’s time for another of those Top Ten Seasonal Lists, this time we’re talking books you have on your Summer TBR lists! As always, it can be either books you’re dying to read now it’s starting to get warm or anticipated new releases. 

I’m going to choose ten books that are on my TBR list as I really shouldn’t be thinking about any more new books (although it is tempting). I also signed up for a number of reading challenges this year and summer will give me the chance to catch up on some of them. So here are ten books that I really want to read this summer:

1. In The First Circle – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn: I have started reading this a couple of times already, but this summer it is a priority to finally read it through to the end!

2. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien: obviously I have read this quite a few times before. It is one of my all-time favourites after all, but I’d like to read it again before Peter Jackson’s movies comes out and spoils it for me.

3. Gilead – Marilynne Robinson: I received this from SantaThing (LibraryThing’s secret Santa) in 2010 and should really get it read. I’ve heard so many good things about it that I really should have read it by now.

4. Silence – Shusaku Endo: this is another book that I’ve had for a number of years, but have not yet read. I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve read by Endo so far, so I’m also expecting to enjoy this one.

5. From Eternity to Here – Frank Viola: I received this one a while ago as well. His Pagan Christianity?, which he co-wrote with George Barna, had a profound effect on the way I look at life and I need to read this one before picking up his latest one, which is called Beyond Evangelical.

6. No Great Mischief – Alistair MacLeod: another book that has been on my shelf unread for too long. Apparently Elliot Lake is one of the prominent places in this book as well, so I should be getting it read.

7. How The Scots Invented Canada – Ken McGoogan. I don’t have this one on my shelf yet, but it is in the mail as I write, as I ordered it from bookcloseouts.ca at the weekend. One of my favourite non-fiction books is McGoogan’s Fatal Passage, which is the true story of John Rae. I’m hoping that How The Scots Invented Canada is as good a read.

8. Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream – H.G. Bissinger: I never saw the TV series of the same name, but I saw the movie that was based on this book and it is one of my favourite football movies (probably Any Given Sunday is my favourite). This book is on one of my 2012 challenges.

9. Catching Fire and Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins: I know this is two books, but if I read one I will read the other. Having enjoyed The Hunger Games just before the movie came out, what better time than summer to read the rest of this series.

10. Unholy Night – Seth Grahame-Smith: I’m cheating with this one, because I don’t actually have a copy of it yet. Having enjoyed his Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, this book, which is an alternative, darker version of the story of the three wise men, is one that I know I will have to read!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Summer Reading (June 19)

  1. I am currently a teeny bit obsessed with Friday Night Lights. I need to check out the book and movie when I am finished (only 2 more seasons left for me :()

    • I wanted to see the TV series, but we stopped subscribing to cable or satellite a few years ago. I guess I could look for DVDs or check online somewhere. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I’m just finishing a book called Bloodlands, which studies the bloodshed caused by Hitler and Stalin in Poland and the western Soviet Union, and touches at the end on the Soviet Union in the 1950s. I’m thinking that In the First Circle might be a good one to follow this up with (it is about the inner circles of the communist party in the 50s, is it not?).

    • In The First Circle is the first uncensored English version of Solzhenitsyn’s novel, originally censored and available as The First Circle. It’s a novel set in Russia in the late 40’s about a group of imprisoned mathematicians and other scientists being forced to help with Stalin’s atomic weapon program or otherwise be sent to the Gulag. The first circle alludes to the first circle of Dante’s picture of hell – i.e. in the first circle you are still in hell, but it’s not as bad as being in the third circle.

      I think the book you may be thinking of, which looks like it is worth checking out, is The Inner Circle: An Inside View of Soviet Life Under Stalin by Andrei Konchalovsky and Alexander Lipkov. Bloodlands sounds quite interesting as well. Thanks for stopping by.

      • Well, now I’m not sure which one I was thinking of, but In The First Circle sounds like it would take up where Bloodlands leaves off. Bloodlands gave me a better understanding of Stalin’s doings up till just after the war ended. Thanks!

  3. I have In The First Circle on my living room table so I should add it to my top ten list (#11!). I’ll add to the chorus of praise for Gilead and suggest that after reading it you will want to read Home which shares some of the same characters.

  4. I loved the entire Hunger Games series, so hurry up and get to those last 2 books 🙂 And The Hobbit is one I want to read too – before the movie comes out. Hope you get to all your summer reads and enjoy them all 🙂

Leave a Reply

