Musing Mondays (June 18)

Musing Mondays is a weekly book meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

This week’s musing says…

I read an article, this past week, about book covers, and the difference between print & digital covers; about how the digital covers have almost disappeared entirely, while publishers decide to just skip right to the content.

What do you think about this? Do you think the book cover is “dead”? Do you care whether the “covers” on digital books exist or not?

If you have the time, read the article and then share your thoughts!

From the start, I have to say that I love book covers. The first thing I look at with any book is the cover, although that’s not the only deciding factor when it comes to choosing to read it or not. A good and interesting cover will draw me in, though.

I think that with many of the new e-readers having colour screens there is opportunity for some great digital colour covers. We gave our daughter a Kobo Vox for her birthday today and I can see how colour covers would work well on it. There’s also the opportunity for interactive covers that may even enhance the reading experience.

I would be quite disappointed if we moved away from covers altogether. Some of my favourite books also have some of my favourite covers. I’m thinking especially of some of the covers on J.R.R. Tolkien’s books. My friend Thomas collects Tolkien books almost only for the variety of covers available (I think he enjoys reading them as well). He recently wrote a post on his personal page about this (HERE).

So, hopefully covers won’t die and that in the future we will still see the work of great artists and designers gracing the covers of our favourite books.

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (June 18)

  1. How interesting that my question of the day coincides with your giving your daughter an e-Reader! LOL.

    I have an older-generation Kobo, too. No color for me, yet.

  2. Pingback: The Recognitions by William Thomas Gaddis « myothervoices

  3. William… thanks for this. The Craig Mod article is inspiring… as is the rest of his essays (which I’d recommend).

    I am a Tolkien fan and a wee bit obsessed. So much so… Olly bought me a copy of The Hobbit as my anniversary card. It made me smile.

    Tx

Leave a Reply

