Booking Through Thursday – Do-Over (June 14)

This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following question:

Have you ever bought a book, started reading it and then realised you have already read it? If so, how far did you get?

This is not something that I remember doing, although I have bought the same book twice and either taken it back or given it as a gift. I’ve lost count of the number of times that I bought my daughter the same book on more than one occasion. Now, I ask her for a list and try to keep the list updated in case she’s read any of them in the meantime.

On a couple of occasions I’ve had problems with books that have different titles. I almost bought The Outsider by Albert Camus recently, but when I picked it up to look at it I realized that it is another name for The Stranger, which I had just recently read. I also had problems finding Northern Lights by Philip Pullman, until I found out that it is actually the same book as The Golden Compass.

There are also a few books that I have had to buy again either because my copy has become worn out or because I have either mistakenly given it away or have loaned it, but can’t remember who to. I’m getting better at remembering these days, though.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Do-Over (June 14)

  1. This last winter I read Terry Pratchett’s Hogfather. I thought I had read the first few pages years ago, but every 30 pages or so I’d think “Oh, I guess this is where I read up to.” It wasn’t until I was finished that I realised I’d read the entire thing already.

Leave a Reply

