Musing Mondays (June 11)

Musing Mondays is a weekly book meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

This week’s musing asks…

What is the longest book you have ever read? How long did it take you to read it?

The longest book I have read is The NIV Pocket Bible in One Year, which took me a year as it was designed that way. This version has 1,333 pages. Each day has about 2o minutes of reading – something from the Old Testament, something from the New Testament, as well as a selection form either the Psalms or Proverbs.

Apart from this I think the next longest book I have read is London: The Novel by Edward Rutherfurd. The paperback version I read has 1,126 pages. It didn’t seem that long when I read it, because it took just about a week to get through it. It’s a book I’d like to read again, but I also have a couple more of Rutherfurd’s books on my shelf that I haven’t read yet (Sarum: the Novel of England and Russka: the Novel of Russia), both of which are close to 1,000 pages.

Other long books I want to read include In The First Circle by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (741 pages), which is on one of my reading challenges for this year, and the 3 volume set of C.S. Lewis’ Collected Letters (total of almost 4,000 pages). I dip in and out of the Lewis letters and will probably get through them eventually.

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (June 11)

Leave a Reply

