Top Ten Tuesday Rewind – Favourite Covers (June 5)

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic. This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Tuesday Rewind – Pick any past topic you want!

So I checked the list and decided to post my top ten book covers. They are, in no particular order, as follows (click on the small cover for a link to a bigger version and book description):

1. A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess. This is the cover of the copy I have and is my favourite out of all the ones I’ve seen. It’s also one of my favourite books. It was designed by David Pelham, who was Art Director at Penguin Books from 1968 to 1979.

2. The Sisters Brothers – Patrick deWitt. This was designed by artist and designer Dan Stiles and is a really great cover – is it a skull, is it two men in front of the moon, or is it both.

3. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien. This was the cover of the first copy I owned. I still have it, but it’s the worst for wears now. There are a lot of different covers available, but I like this one mainly for two reasons: it was the first copy I owned and the cover was painted by the author himself.

4. The Silver Chair – C.S. Lewis. This is probably my favourite book from The Chronicles of Narnia. There are many different covers for this book, but this one by Chris Van Allsburg is my favourite.

5. The Adventures of Tintin: Destination Moon – Herge. I’ve been a big fan of the Tintin books since I was quite young. We used to fight over them at lunchtime in the school library. I love Herge’s art in the drawing of these stories and Destination Moon is the one that sticks in my mind the most.

6. Roverandom – J.R.R. Tolkien. This is another book with the cover illustration drawn by the author. I really like the black-covered Tolkien books that were put out by HarperCollins in the early 2000’s. This version of Roverandom is my favourite cover from these ones, but it’s not the only one I have!

7. A Life of Jesus – Shusaku Endo. There’s a bold simplicity to the cover of this book that belies the depths of its contents. Shusaku Endo is one of the few Japanese writers that I have read anything by. I like his style and he always makes me think. I wasn’t able to find out who designed this cover.

8. The Shore and Roond Aboot: Growing Up in Wartime Kirkwall – Dave Tinch. This cover is the kind of painting I’d like to have on my wall. It was painted by the author of the book, which is his story of being a schoolboy in Orkney during World War II. It is a delightful book, which contains more of his paintings, along with other illustrations and photographs. It’s a great read, as well as being a visual delight.

9. U2 By U2 – U2 and Neil McCormick. I like this cover because it shows four young men who really have no idea who they will become over the course of the next 30 years. It’s a picture of innocence, with a hint of seriousness thrown in. The photograph is by David Corio, and the book was designed by Steve Averill and Gary Kelly.

10. The Invention of Hugo Cabret – Brian Selznick. This is one of the most beautiful books you will ever read. joint credit for design is given to David Saylor, Charles Kreloff and Brian Selznick.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Rewind – Favourite Covers (June 5)

  1. I didn’t do this particular Top Ten, and I should have. I love good cover art, and you’ve got some really interesting choices. I think The Sisters Brothers is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

