Musing Mondays – (June 4)

Musing Mondays is a weekly book meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

This week’s musing asks…

Do you have a reading goal for the year, such as __ books? Why or why not?

I have a few reading goals for this year. They help keep me focused on the books I want to read and encourage me to read things I would never have tried before.

On GoodReads I set my 2012 Reading Challenge at 52 books for the year. As I’ve already read 38 books so far this year then this challenge should be easily completed.

On the Reading page of this blog I wrote that I would like to read at least 60 books this year. I managed only 57 last year, but then last year was a busy year of studying. I’m already more than half-way there with less than half the year gone, so this will be reachable as well.

I signed up for a number of different 2012 challenges through the Reading Challenges Addict page this year as well. I have listed these on my Reading Challenge 2012 page and the total number I initially signed up for is 48, but I recently added another challenge which will take that number up to at least 50. I also took the time to list the books for each challenge to make it a little harder and also to read some authors and books that I may have otherwise overlooked. I have only read 17 of these so far and will have to pull my socks up on this one. The main problem is that since I started book blogging more I have discovered so many other great books not on my lists that I have strayed from the ones I listed. I’ll get back on track soon, though (hopefully!).

None of the challenges I set myself are unreachable. If I don’t complete them all I won’t be devastated, but they enhance my love of reading and sometimes help me read beyond my usual comfort zone. Most important of all is that they don’t spoil my love of reading and I have fun trying to find the right book for whatever reading mood I happen to be in.

What reading challenges, if any, have you set yourself this year?

6 thoughts on “Musing Mondays – (June 4)

  1. Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog!

    My target is to reach at least 50. If I can of course i will read more than that. I am really enjoying my reading challenges this year. I have already completed one. I still have six more to go.

Leave a Reply

