Friday Finds (May 25)

FRIDAY FINDS… is where you share the book titles you discovered or heard about during the past week. These can be books you were told about, books you discovered while browsing blogs/bookstores online, or books that you actually purchased. This event is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

As usual MizB asks the question:

What great books did you hear about/discover this past week? Share with us your FRIDAY FINDS!

I had a great week this week for book finds!

First up is Goliath by Scott Westerfeld, which is the third book in the Leviathan trilogy. I read the first two books earlier in the year and wasn’t expecting to read this one until the summer at the earliest. My wife and daughter surprised me by buying it for me on a shopping trip, so I’m reading it now and enjoying it so far.

Next up are four books by J.R.R. Tolkien that I picked up for $0.50 each in a local thrift store. They are all hardcover editions and are in excellent condition. They are as follows:

I also got the three books in The Hunger Games trilogy. I ordered them for a good price from Scholastic books through my daughter’s school. I had already read the first book, but it was a better deal to buy the trilogy than to get the other two separately.
One other book I got, not included in the above picture, was an ARC of Silver by Andrew Motion, which is a kind of sequel to Treasure Island. I’m looking forward to reading this as I’ve been a fan of Treasure Island for as long as I can remember.
5 thoughts on “Friday Finds (May 25)

  1. Friday Finds sounds like a great idea. I’m discovering some great books this year as I’ve set myself the challenge to read a book from every country in the world in 2012. This week’s Friday finds would be Donato Ndongo’s ‘Shadows of Your Black Memory’ (from Equatorial Guinea) Siphiwo Mahala’s ‘African Delights’ (from South Africa) and Nora Nadjarian’s ‘Ledra Street’ (from Cyprus).

    • Wow, that’s quite the challenge you’ve set yourself. I hope it goes well for you. I’ll be following your blog now to check our progress. I like Friday Finds and gave discovered many new books from this weekly feature. If you check the site where it’s hosted (Should Be Reading) a number of other people post their finds there as well. Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

