Additional 2012 Challenge – Japanese Literature Challenge 6

I thought I had signed up for all my reading challenges for the year, but I discovered one more that I’d like to do. It’s the Japanese Literature Challenge 6, which is being hosted at Dolce Bellezza.

This challenge runs from June 1, 2012 until January 30, 2013 and requires the reading of at least one work of Japanese literature (or poetry) written by a Japanese author (or poet).

I haven’t come up with a list yet or a number of how many I’d like to read, but I have at least one on my shelf that I’ve been meaning to read. That one is Silence by Shusaku Endo. This challenge will help me to finally get it read. I’ll need to find one or two more and try to make a shortlist.

7 thoughts on “Additional 2012 Challenge – Japanese Literature Challenge 6

  1. So glad you found me and decided to join this challenge! I’ve found Endo’s work to be so fascinating. Both Silence and Wonderful Fool are books I’ll never forget. They really made me examine my Christianity of which I deeply believe. Welcome!

    • Thanks for the welcome. I read Endo’s ‘The Samurai’ for a Christian ethics course I took a few years ago and found the story to be very fascinating. I also have his ‘Life of Jesus’ unread on my shelf. I might add it to the challenge, too, but I’ll see how I get on.

    • I had decided to sign up for no more challenges this year, but when I saw this one I knew I had to sign up for it! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

