Review – Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire HunterAbraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was all I thought it would be – and more! It is well-written, funny at times, quite scary and graphic at others, but well worth the read.

The book simply works its way through the life of Abraham Lincoln, from the humble beginnings of his birth, through his political rise to fame to his assassination, and beyond. It differs from any other book about Abe in that it also reveals his life as an accomplished vampire hunter.

I have to admit that, not being American, there is much about Abraham Lincoln’s life that I am ignorant on, but it seems that many of the events in this book were real events from his life, some, of course, altered to include the odd vampire killing. If nothing else, the book has inspired me to seek out a biography or two of his life.

I really enjoyed this book and if you enjoy something different with a little twist in historical plot then this is for you. I didn’t see the ending coming and it wasn’t what I expected. I’m not going to give anything away, so if you want to know how it ended then you’ll have to read it for yourself.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review – Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

  1. Perhaps I should give this book another try, especially because the film is coming out soon. I started it and was hooked on the first bit when the shopkeeper (owner?) was discovering the book. Then when it started getting into Lincoln’s actual early life, I got bored. Then, because I had the book on a short loan because it was a new release at the library, I had to return it before I could finish it. But now that I know it’s interesting AND has a twist ending, perhaps it’s worth another look.

Leave a Reply

