Booking Through Thursday – Live In (May 17)

This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following question:

If you had to choose to live within a novel, which would it be?

Initially I thought this was an easy question, but on reflection the world’s in which some of my favourite novels are set are quite scary and are probably not a place I would choose to live. After all, who would choose to live in the world of 1984, A Clockwork Orange, or Fahrenheit 451?

So, I managed to narrow it down to two where I think I could live:

  1. The world of Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan trilogy. That whole steampunk thing and the Darwinists vs the Clankers would be an exciting place to live.
  2. The Shire, from Tolkien’s The Hobbit. Hobbits seem to have a decent life in a wonderful setting. I could easily be a hobbit, but probably wouldn’t be as adventurous as Bilbo Baggins.
9 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Live In (May 17)

    • We’re talking even before Bilbo set out. I’m going to persuade him to ignore Gandalf, so that he doesn’t go and find the ring. I want a quiet life!

Leave a Reply

