Booking Through Thursday – In Or Out? (May 10)

Today Booking Through Thursday asks the following question:

Do you consider yourself an extrovert or an introvert?

This is a fairly easy question for me to answer. I would definitely consider myself to be an introvert, even though my work involves a fair bit of public speaking. I am very shy by nature and find it hard in new situations. This is probably why I like books so much. I find it hard getting to know new people, but am alright once I’ve met them a few times, which may make it hard for people to realize how introverted I can be. I don’t always see the need for constant talk or chatter and am very comfortable with quietness. I enjoy good conversations as well, but as long as it goes beyond meaningless chatter. When I had to choose college courses I usually looked for ones that involved as little group work as possible, especially having to share in a small group setting. I’d rather listen to the lecture, answer questions when necessary, read the text-book and complete the necessary assignments.

I’m comfortable with who I am and I’m sure those who are extroverted are as well. After all, the world would be a very boring place if we were all the same.

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – In Or Out? (May 10)

  1. Love your answer. You are right, it would be a very boring world if we were all the time. Most of my friends don’t realize how introverted I am. They always say “but you’re so talkative!” and they don’t realize it’s because I already KNOW them. I absolutely hated group projects in school. I’m perfectly comfortable doing things by myself!

  2. I like your answer and how you said you don’t see the need for meaningless chatter and are comfortable with silence. I think a lot of people are uncomfortable with just being with other people and letting things be quiet. Even though I could talk someone’s ear off, it doesn’t always mean I should and sometimes silence is best.

  3. Yes, meaningless chatter! Being the quieter one, I usually get my ear talked off when I see some of my more boisterous friends. I’m a good listener and I don’t really care if my friends talk a lot but it makes me wonder if they even have any other outlets when they give me an update of every single thing they did in the three weeks since we’d last seen each other. After about twenty minutes they reach the point where I’m becoming irritated and just wish they’d shut up already. Then I have to do something to distract them or risk homicide.

    I hated when teachers put us in groups for projects or even gave us partners. I dreaded having a teacher tell us to choose our own groups because my friends were never in the same class as I was. Talk about anxiety! I always wondered why they expected us to be able to work with others we had no knowledge of. I didn’t even know most of their names, for heaven’s sake! I much rather work by myself.

Leave a Reply

