WWW Wednesdays (May 9)

To play along with this weekly book event, hosted by Should Be Reading, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers this week:

What are you currently reading? I am currently reading The Earthquake Machine by Mary Pauline Lowry. GoodReads describes it thus:

The Earthquake Machine tells the story of 14 year-old Rhonda. On the outside, everything looks perfect in Rhonda’s world but at home Rhonda has to deal with a manipulative father who keeps her mentally ill mother hooked on pharmaceuticals. The only reliable person in Rhonda’s life is her family’s Mexican yardman, Jesús. But when the INS deports Jesús back to his home state of Oaxaca, Rhonda is left alone with her increasingly painful family situation.

Determined to find her friend Jesús, Rhonda seizes an opportunity to run away during a camping trip with friends. She swims to the Mexican side of the Rio Grande and makes her way to the border town of Boquillas, Mexico. There a peyote-addled bartender convinces her she won’t be safe traveling alone into the country’s interior. So with the bartender’s help, Rhonda cuts her hair and assumes the identity of a Mexican boy named Angel. She then sets off on a burro across the desert to look for Jesús.

Thus begins a wild adventure that explores the borders between the United States and Mexico, adolescence and adulthood, male and female, English and Spanish, and adult coming-of-age and Young Adult novels.

I might not have read this but for the fact I won it as a giveaway hosted by Aloi at guiltless reading. I’m glad I did, though, because I’m enjoying it so far, even if it is different from most of the books I usually read.

What did you recently finish reading? I finished three books in the last week, as follows:

They were all enjoyable in their own way. Bread and Wine is one I’ve read a few times before, but I always enjoy it. The Book Thief  is a must read book. I reviewed The Orkney Scroll last week and intend to check out more books by Lyn Hamilton.

What do you think you’ll read next? I’m pretty sure that once I’ve finished The Earthquake Machine I am going to read Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith. I had hoped to pick this up in the summer, but when I spied it in one of the local grocer stores for $6.99 yesterday I knew I had to buy it. So I did! I should have it read in time for the movie release next month.

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (May 9)

  1. I won The Earthquake Machine too but have not gotten around to reading it. I will be interested to see what you think of it when you get done with it. I also read The Book Thief – went into it planning on not liking it – but loved it. Amazing when an author can do that. I have not heard of the Abe Lincoln/Vampire book – really? AND a movie? I must really be out of the loop.

    • It took me a little while to get into The Earthquake Machine. It’s very different to what I thought it would be as well, but I’m enjoying it. The Abe Lincoln book is by the same guy who did Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Oh, the Book Thief, loved that book! It was very strange, but I was only in gr. 8 then! And Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter sounds really good! Hope you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

    • Yes, it is quite unusual. I finished it last night and have to say that the ending was nothing like I expected, but not in a bad way. Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

