Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Orkney Scroll (4 May)

I came across the book I have chosen for this weeks meme combo by chance at our local library. I hadn’t intended to get any books, but was waiting for the kids to choose some for themselves. I decided to check the computer to see if they had any books on Orkney (where I grew up). There weren’t too many, as I expected, but one of them was The Orkney Scroll by Lyn Hamilton, which I hadn’t heard of before. Described as an archaeological mystery, I decided to give it a try. I am really glad that I did.

I started reading it yesterday and am finding it hard to put down. The detail the (Canadian) author has gone into about Orkney is quite amazing. I had no problem recognizing the places she was describing in the story. She must have visited Orkney to be writing the way about it that she did. This is one of a number of archaeological mysteries that she wrote and I intend to check more of them out of the library soon. Unfortunately, she died a couple of years ago, so there will be no more of these boos, but I intend to read more of them for sure.

So, onto this weeks excerpts:

Book Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of The Orkney Scroll:

Of Trevor Wylie it was often said that he was a rogue and you should keep your hand firmly on your wallet when he was in the vicinity, but that you couldn’t be upset with him for long. Somebody, though, stayed angry long enough to kill him.

That’s not really a great start for Trevor, but he probably had it coming! I’m looking forward to finishing this book soon and finding out who it was that brought Trevor’s life to a brutal end.

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

Page 56 of The Orkney Scroll contains the following:

“Wylie may have shown you and Baldwin the real deal, but he delivered the fake. That’s still a motive for murder. It may say something about Trevor’s ethics, but it doesn’t change the fact Baldwin took an axe to Trevor’s head.”

Those are my excerpts for this week. Maybe they’ve intrigued you enough to want to get a hold of this book. I’ll be finished it soon and will hopefully find out who it was that did take the axe to Trevor’s head. Maybe it was Baldwin, or perhaps it wasn’t. We’ll see…

6 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Orkney Scroll (4 May)

  1. That’s an excellent beginning! And I love the story behind how you came to read it.

    Thanks for posting on Book Beginnings!

Leave a Reply

