Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (April 27)

I combined these two memes for the first time last week and it seemed to work, so I’ll keep doing this from now on. This week I’ve chosen Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John le Carré. I want to read this again as it has been a long number of years since I did. I want to see the new movie some time soon, so I need to read this first before I do so. GoodReads gives the following description:

A modern classic in which John le Carré expertly creates a total vision of a secret world, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy begins George Smiley’s chess match of wills and wits with Karla, his Soviet counterpart.

It is now beyond doubt that a mole, implanted decades ago by Moscow Centre, has burrowed his way into the highest echelons of British Intelligence. His treachery has already blown some of its most vital operations and its best networks. It is clear that the double agent is one of its own kind. But which one? George Smiley is assigned to identify him. And once identified, the traitor must be destroyed.

So, now the excerpts:

Book Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy:

The truth is, if old Major Dover hadn’t dropped dead at Taunton races Jim would never have come to Thursgood’s at all.

It’s short and sweet, and i’m left wondering who Jim is and why Major Dover had to be dead before he could appear at Thursgood. I really don’t remember much about this book at all, so I should enjoy reading it again!

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

Page 56 of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy contains the following:

For this task he was provided with the workname Lapin. Thus Brod became Ivlov and Ivlov became Lapin: of this poor Ivlov was extremely proud. I did not tell him what Lapin means in French.

That’s it for this week and I look forward to reading the rest of this book, as well as everyone else’s beginnings and 56’s.

12 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (April 27)

  1. I haven’t read this one, but I’ve heard great things about this book and other books by him. One of the people i know in my town used to work for the government doing interrogations or something to that degree and said his novels are surprisingly accurate and well researched.

  2. I just read this one a couple of months ago. I liked it, but it wasn’t quite what I expected.

    Thanks for posting your link on Book Beginnings!

  3. I have never read anything by Le Carré, but my husband watched the film a few weeks ago. He tells me those are the real spies, not the fancy guys running around, deactivating nuclear bombs in the last second.
    Good beginning, too.

    • I saw the movie of the Constant Gardener a few years back, but never read the book. I’m definitely going to hold off on the Tinker Tailor movie until I’ve read the book again.

  4. Pingback: The Honourable School Boy, John Le Carré (Penguin Books, 1977{Penguin Audio, Narrator: Michael Jayston}) | The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans

Leave a Reply

