Booking Through Thursday – Eternity (Apr 12)

Today Booking Through Thursday asks the following question:

What book took you the longest to read, and do you feel it was the content or just the length that made it so?

I can think of a few books that have taken me a long time to read. Quite often I’ll start a book and leave it for a while then come back to it, sometimes months later, and finish it. So, although the reading time probably isn’t too long, the time I take to get it read can be a long time. This happens a lot with short story collections, so usually I miss nothing in the time the book is not being read.

I just finished off some studies and can think of some assigned books that I struggled through. So to answer today’s question with one book, the one that comes to mind is Paradise Lost by John Milton. It took me a long time, because I at times was retaining nothing and found myself re-reading large chunks of it. The problem was that the course I was doing was on the theology of John Milton and I had to write three papers where the primary text was Paradise Lost. So I had to  make sure I had a grasp of it. I found a lot of the language inaccessible (it was written in the 17th century) and I just didn’t enjoy the style of it (it’s a long poem). I got through the course somehow and got a fairly decent mark, all things considered. Suffice to say, I won’t be reading this book again.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Eternity (Apr 12)

  1. All I can say about the papers is that completing this course took me one step closer to graduation and that was all that mattered at the time. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

