Booking Through Thursday – Recommendation (April 5)

Today Booking Through Thursday asks the following question:

If someone asked you for a book recommendation, what is the FIRST book you’d think to recommend (without extra thought)?

This is a very easy question for me to answer. Without hesitation I’d recommend J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I really have no idea how many times I’ve read it since my first time in the mid ’70s, but it’s one I return to time and time again. I still have the first copy I owned, but it is pretty worn out now.

22 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Recommendation (April 5)

  1. Without hesitation I would have to say Toni Morrison’s Paradise. This has been one of my favorite books ever since I read it nearly ten years ago. I don’t think it’s wrong to admit that she is also one of my favorite authors. I haven’t read The Hobbit but I will gladly put in on my reading list.

    • I have to admit that I’m not familiar with Paradise, but I’ll need to check it out soon. Thanks for dropping by.

  2. I love The Hobbit it is one of the best books I have ever read. If someone asked for a fantasy book off the top of my head that would prob be it.

    As for my choice this week My BTT

  3. Great answer, i loved The Hobbit. Sadly, I’ve met people who not only dislike it, but think it’s absolutely terrible. I just don’t understand! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  4. Good one! I read The Hobbit for the first time back in the late 1960s, and enjoyed it a lot. But I lost track of my original copy somewhere along the way — it’s great that you’ve held on to yours.

    Thanks for the visit today!

  5. Awesome choice! I’ve always wanted to read Tolkien’s books but I’ve never gotten around to it. Thanks for stopping by my blog today! 🙂

    • We read it at school and round about the same time it was on the BBC being read on Jackanory by Bernard Cribbins, before the days of widespread VCR’s. I still remember that the week it was on I took about half the time to get home from school so I wouldn’t miss it. I was hooked from then on.

  6. I’ve read and loved Lord of the Rings a few times now, but for some reason I’ve never read the Hobbit. It’s on my list for this year though 🙂

    It irritates me BEYOND BELIEF that they’ve split it into two films though. If each of the LotR books can be one film, surely the Hobbit can be too.

    • I understand why they made it into two, but at this point I’d rather they didn’t make it into any at all, especially with Peter Jackson at the helm. I just don’t think, although that he claims he does, that he gets what Tolkien’s vision of Middle-Earth was all about.

      Thanks for visiting and i’m sure you’ll enjoy The Hobbit.

  7. I’ve never read The Hobbit but am a fan of The Lord of the Rings Series. I’ll defintely have to give it a read! Are you excited for the movie coming out in December?

Leave a Reply

